SOL:  + 1 year from majority or narrow (inquiry notice/knowledge of injury) discovery, all claims

1. Tenn. Code Ann. § 28-3-104 (1)  “Actions for libel, for injuries to the person, false imprisonment, malicious prosecution, breach of marriage promise”


1. Majority, yes 18.

a. Tenn. Code. Ann. § 28-1-106 (“If the person entitled to commence an action is, at the time the cause of action accrued, either under the age of eighteen (18) years, or of unsound mind, such person, or such person’s representatives and privies, as the case may be, may commence the action, after the removal of such disability, within the time of limitation for the particular cause of action, unless it exceeds three (3) years, and in that case within three (3) years from the removal of such disability.”)

2. Discovery:

a. C.S. v. Diocese of Nashville, No. M2007-02076-COA-R3-CV, 2008 Tenn. App. LEXIS 582, *9, 2008 WL 4426891 (Tenn. Ct. App. Sept. 30, 2008) (“Under Tennessee law, the discovery rule requires that “the statue of limitations begins to run when the injury occurs or when the plaintiff discovers or should have discovered that he or she has a right of action.” Doe v. Coffee County Bd. of Educ., 852 S.W.2d 899, 904 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1992) (emphasis added). Thus, the discovery rule tolls the statute when the plaintiff is without means reasonably necessary to discover his claim. However, the discovery rule will toll the statute only when “the plaintiff has no knowledge at all that a wrong has occurred.” Id. Consequently, when a plaintiff knows he is injured and who caused his injury, as a matter of law, he has discovered his cause of action, and its statute of limitations begins to run. Id.”).

1. Redwing v. Catholic Bishop for the Diocese of Memphis, 363 S.W.3d 436, 459, 2012 Tenn. LEXIS 143, 54-55 (Tenn. 2012) (“Under the current discovery rule, a cause of action accrues and the statute of limitations begins to run not only when the plaintiff has actual knowledge of a claim, but also when the plaintiff has actual knowledge of “facts sufficient to put a reasonable person on notice that he [or she] has suffered an injury as a result of wrongful conduct.” Carvell v. Bottoms, 900 S.W.2d 23, 29 (Tenn. 1995) (quoting Roe v. Jefferson, 875 S.W.2d 653, 657 (Tenn. 1994)). This latter circumstance is variously referred to as “constructive notice”14 or “inquiry notice.”15 Quoting the Iowa Supreme Court, we have explained that inquiry notice “charges a plaintiff with knowledge of those facts that a reasonable investigation would have disclosed. . . . [O]nce a plaintiff gains information sufficient to alert a reasonable person of the need to investigate ‘the injury,’ the limitation period begins to run.” Sherrill v. Souder, 325 S.W.3d at 593 n.7 (quoting Rathje v. Mercy Hosp., 745 N.W.2d 443, 461 (Iowa 2008)); see also Diamond v. Davis, 680 A.2d 364, 372 (D.C. 1996) (defining inquiry notice as the “notice which a plaintiff would have possessed after due investigation”).

None for felonies carrying death penalty or life imprisonment for crimes committed since 1989. Tenn. Code Ann. § 40-2-101 (a). +25 years from majority for most CSA-related crimes committed on or after June 20, 2006. Tenn. Code Ann. § 40-2-101 (h). 

For most crimes committed between July 1, 1997 and June 19, 2006, the latter of either the victim’s 21st birthday or +15 years from commission for a Class A felony,  +8 years from commission for a Class B felony, +4 years from commission for class C and D felonies. Unless punishable by life imprisonment or death, then None.

For most crimes committed between November 1, 1989 and June 30, 1997 the latter of the date victim attains majority or +4 years from commission of crime. Unless punishable by life imprisonment or death, then None.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 40-2-101 (a)  A person may be prosecuted, tried and punished for an offense punishable with death or by imprisonment in the penitentiary during life, at any time after the offense is committed.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 40-2-101 (b) Prosecution for a felony offense shall begin within:

(1)  Fifteen (15) years for a Class A felony;

(2)  Eight (8) years for a Class B felony;

(3)  Four (4) years for a Class C or Class D felony; and

(4)  Two (2) years for a Class E felony.