SOL vs. perp: 18 years from discovery = Age 53

(even if previously expired)
SOL vs. employer: Discovery + 7 years

(even if previously expired)

Majority Tolling: √       Age 18
Discovery Tolling: √     Liberal (+7 years)

Age of Consent: 16

Civil SOL Prior to June 2014 Law

      Up to Age 21
    • (Discovery + 3 years)
    • Tolling: Yes

Later Of Delayed Tolling For Minor Victims (18 + 3 Years) And Discovery Rule (3 Years) For Assault And Battery Actions Based On Sexual Abuse Of A MinorMass. Gen. Laws ch. 260, § 4c (2010).

“Sexual abuse” is defined broadly to include many forms of sexual actions. See id.

None where victim abused under 16

No Statute Of Limitations For Most Sexual Offenses Committed Against Minor Victims (Under 16): However, independent evidence is required if prosecution is brought more than 27 years from the date of the offense. Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 277, § 63 (2008).

Tolling: If the perpetrator sexually abuses a victim in Massachusetts and then if the perpetrator leaves Massachusetts, the criminal statute of limitations tolls for the amount of time the perpetrator is outside of Massachusetts.

Sliney v. Previte, 473 Mass. 283, 41 N.E.3d 732 (Mass. 2015)  http://sol-reform.com/sliney.pdf

2015 Pending Legislation

No pending bills at this time.

View SOL Snapshot

Passed in 2014: Bill H. 4126

SECTION 1. Section 4 of chapter 258 of the General Laws, as appearing in the 2012 Official Edition, is hereby amended by inserting after the word “section”, in line 7, the following words:- ; provided, however, that a civil action against a public employer which relates to the sexual abuse of a minor, as provided in section 4C of chapter 260, shall be governed by section 4C½ of said chapter 260 and shall not require presentment of such claim pursuant to this section.

SECTION 2. Said section 4 of said chapter 258, as so appearing, is hereby further amended by inserting after the word “accrued”, in line 13, the following words:- ; provided, however, that an action which relates to the sexual abuse of a minor, as defined in said section 4C of said chapter 260, shall be governed by said section 4C½ of said chapter 260.

SECTION 3. Section 3A of chapter 260 of the General Laws, as so appearing, is hereby amended by inserting after the word “accrues”, in line 3, the following words:- ; provided, however, that an action which relates to the sexual abuse of a minor, as provided in section 4C, shall be governed by section 4C½.

SECTION 4. Section 4C of said chapter 260, as so appearing, is hereby amended by striking out, in line 1, the words “for assault and battery” and inserting in place thereof the following words:- of tort.

SECTION 5. Said section 4C of said chapter 260, as so appearing, is hereby further amended by striking out, in line 2, the word “three” and inserting in place thereof the following figure:- 35.

SECTION 6. Said section 4C of said chapter 260, as so appearing, is hereby further amended by striking out, in line 3, the word “three” and inserting in place thereof the following figure:- 7.

SECTION 7. Said chapter 260 is hereby amended by inserting after section 4C the following section:-

Section 4C½. An action of tort alleging that the defendant negligently supervised a person who sexually abused a minor or that the defendant’s conduct caused or contributed to the sexual abuse of a minor by another person shall be commenced within the later to expire of: (i) 35 years of the acts alleged to have caused an injury or condition to such minor; or (ii) 7 years of the time the victim discovered or reasonably should have discovered that an emotional or psychological injury or condition was caused by such act; provided, however, that the time limit for commencement of such an action under this section shall be tolled for a child until the child reaches 18 years of age. For purposes of this section, “sexual abuse” shall have the same meaning as in section 4C.

SECTION 8. Clause (i) of section 4C½ of chapter 260 of the General Laws shall be limited to all claims arising out of or based upon acts alleged to have caused an injury or condition to a minor which first occurred after the effective date of this act. Clause (ii) of said section 4C½ of said chapter 260 and sections 4 to 6, inclusive, of this act shall apply regardless of when any such action or claim shall have accrued or been filed and regardless of whether it may have lapsed or otherwise be barred by time under the law of the commonwealth.

Patrick to sign minimum wage, child sex abuse statute bills

BOSTON — Gov. Deval Patrick on Thursday will sign bills raising…

Mass House and Sen pass SOL reform unanimously--Gov expected to sign

Once the Governor signs the bill, every survivor of sexual abuse in the state of Massachusetts will be able to file a civil lawsuit, whether or not their SOL already expired, up to age 53. It is a retroactive extension to age 53.

HOUSE VOTES TO EXTEND STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS IN CHILD SEX ABUSE (Massachusetts)

New MA bill is terrific for family victims-- vast majority of victims; RCC hierarchy once again threw own victims under the bus.

Everyone got it wrong in Boston rabbi case, David Clohessy, SNAP

By David Clohessy I feel sorry for headline writers. I…

Save the Date: March 23rd SNAP Event in Boston!

Great event in Boston - March 23

State Outreach Organizations